Resources & Tips to Boost Your Swedish Skills

Abroad and in Sweden

Annika Wappelhorst
9 min readMay 14, 2022
Screenshot of author’s Instagram account (post_it_in_swedish)

I won’t lie: When I started learning Swedish, I thought the pronunciation was funny and impossible to learn (the latter turned out to be a myth). As I had started learning the language mostly by coincidence and curiosity, I long lacked the motivation to learn Swedish properly. However, two years of starting Swedish courses, I moved to Sweden for an English master’s program.

Hearing the North Germanic language around me every day finally made me discover its beauty. I believe every language learner eventually falls in love with the language they’re learning because the act of learning a language feels like appropriating it. The language inevitably becomes part of you.

Now that I’ve been living here for soon two years, I can sell movie tickets in Swedish, watch TV shows without subtitles, eavesdrop on conversations and write emails that “get my message across”. I recently even had a three-hour conversation with a retired Swedish backpacker on my train journey from Germany to Sweden — the proud peak of my Swedish learning curve.

Part I of this text is about practice tips abroad, part II addresses what you can do in Sweden, and part III gives you some general language learning hacks that worked for me.

Part I. Doing Your Best…

--

--

Annika Wappelhorst

I write about life in Sweden and other countries, language learning, doing yoga and conducting media & communication research.